


 

 Veteran Owned Business Certification 
 Purchasing Goals  
◦ ESB 5041 3% Non-competitive purchases 
◦ Governor’s Executive Order 13-01 5% all purchases 

 Linked Deposit Program 
 Designation of Self-Identified Small 
Business in WEBS 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
The Washington State Legislature has shown a commitment to helping various categories of small businesses get noticed by government purchasers.

Legislature has taken several actions, one in 2007 to establish a registry and one in 2010 to ask public agencies to increase purchasing and contracting with VOBs.

Linked Deposit Loan program was established in 1993 to assist M/WBE businesses to facilitate access to capital by reducing the loan interest rates up to 200 basis points on loans for certified M/WBE businesses.  Over the years, the legislature increased the amount of funding.  In 2009, the legislature included veteran owned businesses participate in the program, increased the funding, made adjustments to the limits on basis points, and gave OMWBE rule making authority over the program.  OMWBE gave first-time borrowers priority and set caps on the maximum amount of loans for the life of the business and/or owner.

In 2007, required prime contractors to have an OMWBE approved supplier diversity plan, or equivalent, in place before work could begin on any job order contract (alternative public works method in construction).  In 2009, required state agencies and higher educational institutions to report their spend with certified M/WBE businesses to OMWBE

And legislation in 2009 which asked the state's central services agencies are to develop procurement policies and procedures which encourage and facilitate state agency purchases of products and services from small businesses in Washington.






WDVA 
 www.dva.wa.gov  
 800 Certified Businesses 
 49 Businesses Participating in the Linked Deposit Program 

  
 

 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
WDVA – when registry was initially created the process was entirely self-service, similar to the WEBS registry.  With passage of SB 5041, WDVA has begun the process of certifying each of the businesses that had previously registered.   No application fees.  Certification requires that we verify the business owner is an honorably discharged U.S. Military veteran and that they have ownership of at least 51% of the business.  Businesses owned jointly by husband and wife are also able to be certified.  Following certification, businesses receive a decal that they can display showing that they are a veteran owned business.

OMWBE -  Certification has always been a requirement for the M/WBE and DBE programs from the beginning (over 25 years ago).  Fees for M/W/DBE applications:  $50 for sole proprietorships, $75 for partnerships, $100 for LLCs and corporations; good for three years.  M/WBE:  Certification requires the eligible owner (minorities and/or women) must own at least 51.0% of the business, possess the technical expertise to manage and control the business.  Also, the business must be properly licensed, operate independently, be a small business concern (US Small Business Administration size standards), and perform a commercially useful function.  Businesses owned jointly  by husband and wife are able to be certified under specific exceptions.  Following certification, businesses receive a certification letter and certification number they can display showing that they are a minority or woman business enterprise.  DBE:  DBE only applications:  $25 for any new or recertification application and $20 for annual updates.  Similar to the M/WBE with a few exceptions/additions – eligible owner’s personal net worth must be under $750,000 and the business must have capacity to perform the work including owning or leasing the equipment to perform the work, not renting.  

http://www.dva.wa.gov/


You can request certification of your business at:  
http://www.dva.wa.gov/program/veteran-owned-business-
certification  
This site will get you to the first step in the process, which is 
setting up an account in the Department of Enterprise Services, 
WEBS system.  This system allows for a Veteran designation.  
Once you check the Veteran box, an email is sent to you and 
WDVA with more information and instructions! 

 
◦ You must be at least 51% owner of your company,  

             * 50/50 eligible for either 2 veteran owners or community property 
◦ Control day to day operations, and  
◦ Honorably discharged or currently serving. 
◦ Be a Washington State Enterprise.  

http://www.dva.wa.gov/program/veteran-owned-business-certification
http://www.dva.wa.gov/program/veteran-owned-business-certification


 
You will be asked to provide WDVA with:   

1. Proof of Honorable Veteran Status  
Veteran - DD214, Retired VA ID Card, Retirement Certificate, Discharge Certificate 
Currently serving -Military ID, badge, recent paystub, or letter on military letterhead.   
(If you need to order a new copy of your DD214 you can do so at www.archives.gov ) 
 

2. Proof of 51% ownership  
Master Business application, business plan, operating agreement, meeting minutes,    
shares report, stock certificate breakdown, tax forms with ownership % such as schedule 
K, or if sole proprietorship your license.  
  

3. Be a Washington State Enterprise.  
An enterprise which is incorporated in the state of Washington as a Washington 
domestic corporation, or an enterprise whose principal place of business is 
located within the state of Washington for enterprises which are not 
incorporated. 
  
You can send the certification documentation several ways: 

1. Email documents to vob@dva.wa.gov  
2. Fax Attn: Jennifer Montgomery 360-725-2197 
3. US Mail: WDVA Business Certification  PO Box 41150 - Olympia, WA 98504-1150 

http://www.archives.gov/
mailto:vob@dva.wa.gov


 

Once certified you may take advantage of the Linked Deposit 
Program through a participating lender.   
 
Types of qualifying loans: Any commercial financing made to the 
certified firm, including, lines of credit, financing of accounts 
receivable, working capital, equipment purchases, and real 
property acquisition.  
◦ $1 million per-loan limit; ten year maximum term.  
◦ Interest rate: up to two percentage points below the market rate 

for a similar loan.  
◦ Firm must satisfy its bank’s financing/loan criteria. 

 
Both you and your loan officer will fill out portions of the Loan 
Enrollment form available on the WDVA website: 
http://www.dva.wa.gov/program/linked-deposit 

http://www.dva.wa.gov/program/linked-deposit
http://www.dva.wa.gov/program/linked-deposit
http://www.dva.wa.gov/program/linked-deposit
http://www.dva.wa.gov/program/linked-deposit


 Check-
Boxes in 
WEBS!  



WDVA 
What are the benefits to Veteran Owned 
Businesses? 
 

 Linked Deposit Loan Program participation 
 
 Marketing tools, including WEBS system and 

WDVA electronic register 
 
 Outreach access to contracting & 

procurement opportunities 
 

 



WDVA 

Heidi Audette Communications and Legislative Director 
360-725-2154 or heidia@dva.wa.gov  
 

Jennifer Montgomery Web and VOB Certification Program Manager 
360-725-2169 or jenniferm@dva.wa.gov  
 

www.dva.wa.gov – click on Veteran Businesses 
 

 

mailto:heidia@dva.wa.gov
mailto:jenniferm@dva.wa.gov
http://www.dva.wa.gov/
http://www.dva.wa.gov/
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