

Chehalis Basin Board Roster Updated August 2018

Voting Members

POSITION NUMBER	NAME	APPOINTING AUTHORITY	TERM BEGINS	TERM ENDS
C1	David Burnett ¹	Confederated Tribes of the	July 1, 2017	June 30, 2021
		Chehalis Reservation		
Q1	Tyson Johnston ¹	Quinault Indian Nation	July 1, 2017	June 30, 2021
G1	Steve Malloch ²	Governor	July 1, 2017	June 30, 2019
G2	J. Vander Stoep ³	Governor	July 1, 2017	June 30, 2020
FA 1	Vickie Raines ³ , Chair	Flood Authority	July 1, 2017	June 30, 2020
FA 2	Edna Fund ³	Flood Authority	July 1, 2017	June 30, 2020
FA 3	Jay Gordon ²	Flood Authority	July 1, 2017	June 30, 2019

¹Initial four year terms

Ex Officio Non-Voting Members

WASHINGTON STATE AGENCY	AGENCY HEAD NAME/TITLE	DESIGNATED REPRESENTATIVE
Department of Fish and Wildlife	Director Kelly Susewind	Justin Allegro
State Conservation Commission	Executive Director Mark Clark	Stu Trefry
Department of Transportation	Secretary Roger Millar	Kris Strickler
Department of Ecology	Director Maia Bellon	Gordon White
Department of Natural Resources	Commissioner Hilary Franz	Stephen Bernath

²Two members initially appointed for terms of two years

³ Three members initially appointed for term of three years RCW 43.21A.731



CHEHALIS BASIN BOARD MEMBERSHIP, COMPOSITION, QUALIFICATIONS, & TERMS RCW 43.21A.731

The law provides for a total of 12 board members, consisting of seven voting members and five ex officio non-voting members.

No member may have a direct financial interest in the actions of the board.

SEVEN VOTING MEMBERS

- The Governor invites the Confederated Tribes of the Chehalis Reservation (Chehalis Tribe) and Quinault Indian Nation to each designate:
 - One member representing the Chehalis Tribe (C1)
 - One member representing the Quinault Indian Nation (Q1)
- The Governor appoints two members, subject to confirmation by the Senate (G1 and G2).
- The Chehalis Basin Flood Authority appoints three members (FA1, FA2, and FA3).
 - **Qualifications**: In making appointments, the appointing authorities must seek a membership that collectively:
 - Provides the expertise necessary to provide strong oversight for implementation of the Chehalis basin strategy;
 - Provides extensive knowledge of local government processes and functions; and
 - Has an understanding of issues relevant to reducing flood damages and restoring aquatic species.
- The Governor appoints the **Chair** from one of the Flood Authority appointees.
- Appointed voting members serve **staggered four-year terms** (after initial appointments of two members with two-year terms + three members with three-year terms).

FIVE NON-VOTING MEMBERS

- The following five state officials must serve as ex officio nonvoting members:
 - Director of Department of Fish & Wildlife
 - Executive Director of Washington State Conservation Commission
 - Secretary of Department of Transportation
 - Director of Department of Ecology
 - Commissioner of Public Lands
- State officials serving in an ex officio capacity may designate a representative of their agency to serve on the board in their behalf, by making such a designation in writing and in such a manner as is specified by the board.