CHEHALIS BASIN BOARD



January 13, 2020

The Honorable Brian Blake House of Representatives PO Box 40600 Olympia, WA 98504

RE: House Bill 2109 - Concerning Membership of the Chehalis Basin Board

Dear Representative Blake:

The Chehalis Basin Board was created by the legislature in 2017 and charged with responsibility for oversight of a long-term strategy to reduce flood damages and restore aquatic species habitat in the Chehalis River Basin. With strong bipartisan support of the legislature, the Board has succeeded in constructing dozens of habitat and flood damage reduction projects, while simultaneously developing the scientific and technical information needed to fulfill our legislative directive to "aggressively pursue" an integrated strategy and funding to advance both fish and flood objectives.

The Board is comprised of seven voting members. Two of the voting members are designated by the Confederated Tribes of the Chehalis Reservation and the Quinault Indian Nation at the invitation of the Governor. We have been honored, and very fortunate, that both tribes have designated elected tribal council members to serve on the Board. Having elected tribal leaders engage directly in shaping the Board's consensus-based approach to the Chehalis Basin Strategy has been critical to the success of our efforts to date.

On January 9, 2020, the Board considered and fully supported HB 2109, which would provide clarity on the tribes' ability to designate a voting alternate member in the event their primary designee is unable to attend a meeting. This change will ensure the tribes' voices, and votes, continue to be heard as the Board seeks consensus on its long-term integrated strategy and future funding recommendations.

Thank you for your continued support of the Board's efforts to make the basin safer and more resilient from the increasing threats posed by future catastrophic flooding and the accelerating decline of salmon and other aquatic species.

Sincerely,

Vickie Raines Chair, Chehalis Basin Board Chair, Chehalis Flood Authority Chair Grays Harbor County Commissioner

The Honorable Brain Blake January 13, 2020 Page 2

Voting Members

Edna Fund Vice Chair, Chehalis Flood Authority Chair, Chehalis Basin Flood Control Zone District Lewis County Commissioner

Jay Gordon Member, Chehalis Flood Authority, Farmer in lower Chehalis Basin, Policy Director, Washington Dairy Federation

Tyson Johnston Vice President, Quinault Indian Nation

Harry Pickernell Chairman, Confederated Tribes of the Chehalis Reservation

Steve Malloch Member, Office of the Governor Western Water Futures LLC

J. Vander Stoep Member, Office of the Governor Private Attorney

cc: Representative Sharon Shewmake Representative Bruce Chandler Representative Tom Dent Representative Mike Chapman Representative Mary Dye Representative Joe Fitzgibbon Representative Joel Kretz Representative Debra Lekanoff Representative Ed Orcutt Representative Eric Pettigrew Representative Bill Ramos Representative Joe Schmick Representative Larry Springer Representative Jim Walsh

Ex Officio Members

Michael Garrity, for Kelly Susewind, WDFW

Stephen Bernath, for Hilary Franz, DNR

Bart Gernhart, for Roger Millar, WSDOT

Stu Trefry, for Mark Clark, WSCC

Gordon White, for Laura Watson, Ecology