Today is
[Portal ID #1962]

Department of Ecology
Committees, Boards, and Workgroups

Municipal Wastewater Permit Fees Advisory Committee

Ecology home | 2021 Legislative Report: Wastewater and Stormwater Discharge Permit Fee Program

 Last revised: June 14, 2022

The Municipal Wastewater Permit Fees Advisory Committee will create recommendations for adjusting the fee schedule for permits authorized by RCW 90.48.162 and RCW 90.48.165.

In the 2022 legislative session, the state legislature passed SB 5585, which removes the cap on municipal wastewater discharge permit fees. This bill directs the Department of Ecology to facilitate a stakeholder advisory committee to address the needs of our permittees, analyze Ecology’s permit managers’ workloads, and ultimately create recommendations that Ecology must use as the basis for updates in 2023 to the relevant Water Quality Permit fees set in chapter 173-224 WAC. These fees are described in Section (3)(a) of the current WAC 173-224-040 Permit fee schedule.

The advisory committee's goal is to collaboratively determine a fee structure that reduces our permit backlog and provides our permittees with the support they need.

Ecology will present this committee's recommendations to the legislature in the 2023 legislative session.

Submit Comments:

If you have questions or would like to submit comments about the Municipal Wastewater Permit Fees Advisory Committee, please contact David Giglio at ECYReWQPMO@ecy.wa.gov

Upcoming Meetings:

Orientation Meeting

Option A:
Friday, June 10th from 3:00 PM - 4:30 PM

Meeting Materials

Option B:
Wednesday, June 22nd from 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM


Kickoff Meeting -- July 15th, 2022

10 AM - 3 PM
Lacey Community Center
6729 Pacific Ave SE, Lacey, WA 98503

  • Agenda & meeting materials packet coming soon

Program contacts:

David Giglio - Water Quality Deputy Program Manager
Municipal Wastewater Permit Fees Advisory Committee Facilitator
(360) 407-6489 office
(360) 480-2141 mobile

Emily Asplin - Policy & Planning Intern
Municipal Wastewater Permit Fees Advisory Committee Facilitation Support
(360) 522-6748

Katie Bentley-McCue - Administrative Assistant to the Deputy Program Manager
(360) 522-6896


No files uploaded yet

Currently loading

Please Wait...