zoom+R
Today is
[Portal ID #1962]

Department of Ecology
Committees, Boards, and Workgroups

Legacy Pesticide Working Group

Lead Arsenate Spraying 1920s

Legacy Pesticide Working Group  

The Legacy Pesticide Working Group (LPWG) started meeting in February 2020 to address the complex issues surrounding lead and arsenic contamination on former orchard lands.

Primary objectives for the LPWG include:

  • Create a process for all properties to be evaluated (i.e., sampled)
  • Notify buyers and/or current homeowners about the specifics of contamination on their property (Was it an old orchard? Was it sampled? What were the results? Was it cleaned up?)
  • Identify actions that meet Ecology’s cleanup regulations
  • Create a broad-based education strategy for the public about the manageable risk from lead and arsenic contamination

 

Background:

Lead arsenate was widely used throughout central Washington to control codling moth infestations to fruit trees in the early half of the 20th Century. This resulted in widespread lead and arsenic contamination in former orchard lands in certain counties – mostly Yakima, Chelan, Douglas, Okanogan, and parts of Benton. Nearly 115,000 acres of land in Central Washington are considered historic orchard lands and are potentially contaminated by lead and arsenic. Maps can be found here

  

MEETINGS:

Kickoff Meeting

February 6, 2020
Union Gap

Agenda
Meeting 1 Summary
Operating Principles 

2nd Meeting

March 17, 2020
Wenatchee

Agenda


3rd Meeting

April TBD, 2020
Union Gap

Agenda


4th Meeting 

May TBD, 2020
Wenatchee

Agenda


 

Kickoff Meeting Materials:

2003 Area Wide Task Force Recommendations 2003 Area Wide Task Force Implementation
DOH Lead health effects poster DOH Health Effects presentation
Lead Health Effects FAQ Arsenic Health Effects FAQ
Soil Contamination Evaluation  
ECY Introduction Presentation ECY Station materials
Be alert in the dirt lesson plans  Lead and Arsenic in the Soil Brochure
Healthy Gardening Brochure Landscaping and Gardening Safely 
Dirt Alert Poster - English Dirt Alert Poster - Spanish 
Garden Brochure  Healthy Actions - English and Korean 
Real Estate Disclosure Form  

 

Blogs:

Legacies of Lead and Arsenic - Part 1

Legacies of Lead and Arsenic - Part 2

 

LEGACY PESTICIDE WORKING GROUP MEMBERS: 

Clint   Adamson Owner Pleasant Ridge Construction clint@pleasantridgeconstruction.com
Lori   Barnett Community Development Director City of East Wenatchee  lbarnett@east-wenatchee.com
Steve   Bishop Realtor Premier One Properties sbish@nwi.net
Jim   Blair President North Meridian Title and Escrow, LLC jblair4@nmtitlegroup.com
Lilian   Bravo Public Health Partnership Director Yakima Health District lilian.bravo@co.yakima.wa.us
Joan   Davenport Director of Community Development City of Yakima joan.davenport@yakimawa.gov
Jon  DeVaney President Washington State Tree Fruit Association jon@wstfa.org
Glen  Devries Community Development Director City of Wenatchee gdevries@wenatcheewa.gov
Dean   Emanuels VP, Chief Appraiser Washington Trust Bank demanuels@watrust.com
Doug   England Commissioner Chelan County doug.england@co.chelan.wa.us
Pete   Fraley Attorney Ogden Murphy Wallace pfraley@omwlaw.com
Craig   Gildroy Planning Director City of Chelan  cgildroy@cityofchelan.us
Keith   Goehner Representative  12th Legislative District keith.goehner@leg.wa.gov
Byron  Gumz Senior Project Planner Yakima County byron.Gumz@co.yakima.wa.us
Rob  Jammerman Public Works Director City of Wenatchee  Rjammerman@WenatcheeWa.gov
Paul  Jewell Policy Director WSAC pjewell@wsac.org
Josh   Jorgenson Board of Directors President Wenatchee Valley Chamber of Commerce jorgensenjosh1@gmail.com
Steve   King Economic Development Director City of Wenatchee sking@wenatcheewa.gov
Barry  Kling Administrator Chelan-Douglas Health District barry.kling@cdhd.wa.gov
Dave   Kuhl Community Development Director Chelan County dave.kuhl@co.chelan.wa.us
Hank  Lewis Former Chelan Co. Community Development Director & Consultant Local homebuilding interests hanklewis1@gmail.com
Curtis    Lillquist Principal Planner Douglas County clillquist@co.douglas.wa.us
Ryan  Mathews Principal Fulcrum rmathews@efulcrum.net
Jake   Mayson Government Affairs Director Central Washington Homebuilders Association jmayson@cwhba.org
Carol   McCormick MSN Nursing Director  Chelan-Douglas Health District carol.mccormick@cdhd.wa.gov
Joanne  Melton Real Estate Agent Keller Williams Realty joanne@joannemelton.com
Deb   Miller Executive Director Action Health Partners deb.miller@cc-ahp.com
Don   Mounter Project Manager Pipkin Construction don@pipkininc.com
Dereck   Nelson Sales and Customer Relations DH Construction dereck@dhconstructioninc.com
Nathan  Pate Principal Planner Douglas County Land Services  npate@co.douglas.wa.us
Mike  Shuttleworth Planning Manager Yakima Valley Council of Governments mike.shuttleworth@yvcog.org
Kyle   Steinburg Commissioner Douglas County ksteinburg@co.douglas.wa.us
Marc   Straub Commissioner Douglas County mstraub@co.douglas.wa.us
Judy   Warnick Senator  13th Legislative District judy.warnick@leg.wa.gov

 

Ecology wants to hear from you. If you have any questions or comments, please contact:

Jill Scheffer
jill.scheffer@ecy.wa.gov
Section Planner, Toxics Cleanup Program
Washington Department of Ecology
Central Region Office
1250 West Alder Street
Union Gap, WA 98903
509-454-7834

If you are a member of the media, please contact: 

Cheryl Ann Bishop, PhD
cherylAnn.Bishop@ecy.wa.gov 
Toxics Cleanup Program
Communications Manager
Desk: 360-407-6848;
Cell: 360-819-6247 

Documents

 File NameFile SizeDescriptionCategoryDate Added
03-09-050.pdf 14 MB 2003 Lead and Arsenic Task Force Report 2
2003 Lead and Arsenic Task Force Report 2
LPWG Background Mate... 02/04/20 08:25 AM
03-09-102.pdf 1.9 MB 2003 Lead and Arsenic Task Force Report
2003 Lead and Arsenic Task Force Report
LPWG Background Mate... 02/04/20 08:24 AM
LPWG.FINALMtg1Agenda.pdf 136.7 KB LPWG Meeting 1 - FINAL Agenda
LPWG Meeting 1 - FINAL Agenda
Meeting minutes 02/04/20 08:22 AM
tfacts13.pdf 368.8 KB Lead - ToxFAQs
Lead - ToxFAQs
LPWG Background Mate... 02/03/20 02:56 PM
tfacts2.pdf 93.9 KB Arsenic ToxFAQs
Arsenic ToxFAQs
LPWG Background Mate... 02/03/20 02:56 PM
334-187.pdf 133.9 KB Soil Contamination Evaluation Eastern and Central ...
Soil Contamination Evaluation Eastern and Central Washington Schools Fact Sheet – 2009
LPWG Background Mate... 02/03/20 02:55 PM
DOH Lead Health Effects Poster (Ecology meeting Union Gap Feb 6).pdf 1.2 MB DOH Lead Health Effects Poster
DOH Lead Health Effects Poster
LPWG Background Mate... 02/03/20 02:54 PM
LPWG Operating Principles v.2.3.20.pdf 125.4 KB LPWG Operating Principles
LPWG Operating Principles
LPWG Background Mate... 02/03/20 02:52 PM
FAQ Lead and Arsenic in Soil at Old Fruit Orchards - Wisconsin.pdf 813.5 KB FAQ Lead and Arsenic in Soil at Old Fruit Orchards...
FAQ Lead and Arsenic in Soil at Old Fruit Orchards - Wisconsin
LPWG Background Mate... 02/03/20 02:51 PM

Currently loading

Please Wait...